Gardening with My Girls

I don’t know what it was, but something made my eldest adamant that we have a garden this year. I’m thrilled by her enthusiasm, but at the same time I’m a bit nervous. While there are a number of accomplished gardeners in my family tree (my grandfather had one of the most amazing vegetable gardens I’ve ever seen), I do not claim to be one of them. Some people have green thumbs. Mine is probably closer to black. I managed to kill lucky bamboo back in college. However, I am all about supporting my daughter’s interests, so if it’s a garden she wants, a garden she shall have.

Now, unfortunately, our current house doesn’t have much of a yard, so our “garden” is being limited to planters on our patio. We have three large planters, two smaller ones, a cracked crock pot that I’ve turned into a planter, and a small, plastic princess pot that came with a zinnia growing kit. In one of our larger planters, my eldest (Big Bit), has chosen to try and grow carrots. They are her favorite vegetable and I have promised to cook them for her if we are able to harvest any, though at this point I still think that’s a rather big if. In our second large planter we’ve planted lupines because one of Big Bit’s bedtime stories is Miss Rumphius, a story about a lady who plants lupines in order to leave the world a more beautiful place. Finally, our last large planter has been seeded with bluebonnets.

Big Bit and I planting her carrots.

Big Bit and I planting her carrots.

The smaller planters (excepting the plastic princess pot with the zinnias) are my domain. The cracked crock pot holds two onions that sprouted in our pantry. I don’t expect to really do anything with them, but I planted them nonetheless, because, why not? The smaller box planters have my little kitchen herb garden. I have oregano, basil, rosemary, and thyme. I also have some green onion being grown from kitchen scraps. (Thank you Pinterest for the tip!)

As I said before, I’m not some amazing gardener so my expectations for this project are very modest. However, both the girls seem to really enjoy going out and tending to our garden. Watering is an especially anticipated task. Regardless of whether we actually manage to grow something (though hopefully we do!) I’m glad to have a project we can work on together as a family. Fingers crossed, I will be able to make positive reports on our garden’s progress as the season progresses.

Like I said, we're all about watering here.

Like I said, we’re all about watering here.

Leave a Reply

