New Pinterest Recipe of the Week: Raspberry Sour Cream Muffins

When I am pregnant there is one thing I do a lot of, or at least more than usual. I bake. Nesting isn’t necessarily cleaning or organizing for me. More likely it’s the absolute need to make brownies at midnight (pregnancy #1), or some similar harebrained baking scheme. Anyway, the other day I went on what I consider my first pregnancy-related baking binge. The girls were behaving, Hubs was home from work to help keep an eye on them, and so I went for it. I made banana bread (my tried and true recipe, which I’ll post later this week) and these muffins. The recipe comes from Slice of Southern and was really easy to make.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 1 Tbsp. baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 6 Tbsp. canola oil
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 cup raspberries (You can use frozen, but I used fresh because, if you can find nice ones in season, why settle for anything less?)

Preheat the oven to 400°F and either grease a muffin pan or use paper liners.

In a large bowl add flour, baking powder, and salt, stirring to mix. In another smaller bowl, lightly beat your two eggs and then add the sugar, canola oil, sour cream, and vanilla. Stir until just blended. Pour your wet ingredients into your dry ingredients and stir until just moistened, taking care not to over mix. Gently fold in your raspberries, doing your best not to mash them. (If you have used fresh, this may be harder if you have some really ripe ones mixed in. Don’t worry if a couple don’t survive folding intact, it just makes some pretty swirls of color on your finished muffins.)

Spoon your batter (it will be rather thick) into your prepared muffin pan. (I portioned out about 1/4-1/3 cup of batter per muffin and that made pretty good sized ones.) Bake for 20 mins. or until golden brown. Allow to cool 5 minutes in the pan and then transfer to a wire rack.

Makes approx. 12 muffins.

IMG_1415

Tweaks and Overall Review:

The main thing I changed, more out of caution than anything else, was I lowered the oven temperature to 375°F. My oven tends to run slightly hot and I was using dark bakeware, so I just wanted to be sure these didn’t get burned. Changing the oven temperature added another 5 mins. at 375° and then an additional 5 mins. at 400° in order to get a nice golden color on the tops of the muffins. Whether this was truly necessary is debatable, but the muffins turned out fine either way.

This makes a very dense muffin. These will definitely fill you up if you make them for breakfast. They have the barest hint of sweetness, but the most prevalent flavor is the slight tartness of the raspberries. These will not be short on raspberry flavor. Every muffin I had contained at least three raspberries in it, if not one or two more. They tasted best warm from the oven with a bit of butter, but still kept well for the next day. I wouldn’t recommend trying to make them last one or two days past baking though, as the raspberries within the muffins stay quite moist and moisture is generally not a friend to food preservation.

Leave a Reply

