Tried and True: Betty Crocker’s Banana Bread

Confession: I had meant to write this post and get it up a few days ago, but alas, life happened, so blogging didn’t. Mea culpa! Hopefully you enjoy it now.

A few posts ago, when I went on my baking binge, I mentioned that I made muffins and a batch of my tried and true banana bread. I promised to post the recipe for the banana bread, so here it is. I’ve been using this recipe for years. It is my go-to when I want banana bread but don’t feel like trying out a new recipe. I originally found it in my bridal edition of the Betty Crocker Cookbook (Note: In my opinion, a bridal edition cookbook is an AWESOME wedding gift), however the recipe is also available on their website here. Seriously, I LOVE this recipe. There’s a reason I come back to it again and again. I hope you give it a try and enjoy it too!

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cups of sugar
  • 1/2 cup of butter, softened (I use unsalted)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups very ripe, mashed bananas (About 3 medium sized ones, though you can use 4 for some extra banana flavor)
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup chopped nuts, if desired (I use walnuts)

Move your oven rack so the tops of your loaf pan will be in the center of the oven. Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease two loaf pans 8 1/2 x 4 1/2 or one 9 x 5 with shortening. (The original recipe calls for only greasing the bottoms of the pans, however I have found that life is easier when it comes releasing the finished loaf if both the bottom and sides of the pan are greased AND floured. Also, even using a 9 x 5 loaf pan I usually end up with enough batter for two loaves, so plan accordingly.)

In a large bowl, mix butter and sugar. Stir in the eggs until well blended. Stir in bananas, buttermilk, and vanilla, beating until smooth. Stir in flour, baking soda, and salt until just moistened. Fold in nuts. Divide batter between pans.

Bake for 1 hour to 1 hour 15 mins. or until a tester stick inserted to the center comes out clean. Cool for 10 mins. on a wire rack in the pans, then remove the loaves from the pans and allow to cool on the wire rack for another 2 hours or so, until cooled completely.Betty Crocker's Banana Bread

Tweaks and Overall Review

Other than the tweak I make to the greasing process, the only major change I make to the recipe is to add some cinnamon (about 1 tsp.) and some nutmeg (just a pinch) to my batter. However, this is a personal taste, so feel free to omit them if you choose. If you do want to add spices, I typically add them to my dry ingredients and let them be mixed in with them. (I usually have a smaller bowl with my dry ingredients blended together separately and then I stir in the whole lot of them into my wet ingredients.)

Have I mentioned before how much I love this recipe? I love the flavor, I love the texture, I love how the house smells when it’s baking. It’s moist and flavorful, partially from using buttermilk, and has always been a success when I make it for a potluck or send some off to work with Hubs. Yeah, I’m seriously attached to this recipe.

Leave a Reply

