Hitting “The Wall”

I think I’m at that point. The point in pregnancy where you hit your wall. I’m at the point where I have transitioned from happy, energetic, dare I say sometimes even cute pregnant, to big, awkward, uncomfortable, waddling at all times pregnant. I’m not exactly miserable pregnant yet, though I’m sure I’ll get there sooner than I’d like, but I’m definitely starting my “How Much Longer Until It’s Over?” countdown. (For the record, there are about 9 weeks to go.)

I guess what’s getting to me is I’m hitting my wall about a month ahead of my last two pregnancies. With my first, even though I was pregnant in summer, in Texas, I didn’t really hit my wall until into my eighth month. My second was about the same, partially because I spent my last trimester in fall/winter weather, so heat or humidity wasn’t such an issue. This time around, I’m in my last trimester in summer again, and even though the humidity is not nearly as bad here, the heat is still starting to get to me. It definitely isn’t helping the general discomfort issue, which makes it hard enough to sleep as it is. Add to that to the fact that being pregnant is like having a space heater inside you, and yeah, a good night’s sleep is hard to come by, especially in summer.

The other thing bugging me is I feel like I’m bigger now than I was with either of the girls at this point in my previous pregnancies. The whole feeling bigger earlier also means I’m feeling slow and awkward earlier, which is definitely not convenient with two very active girls at home. I know, I know, third pregnancy and this sort of thing is sort of to be expected. While there are definite benefits to this not being my first rodeo, this is not one of them. So there you have it. I have hit my wall. Oh well, only about 9 more weeks to go, right?

One thought on “Hitting “The Wall”

  1. Pingback: Miserable Pregnant | G.I. June

Leave a Reply

