New Pinterest Recipe of the Week: Strawberry Banana Bread

I know, I know. It seems all I do is bake and that I have some terrible obsession with banana breads. I promise I can do more than bake, and that while I do love a good banana bread, there are other foods that I enjoy preparing (and eating) just as much. That being said, when you have perfectly overripe bananas, you use them, and when you have additional summer produce begging to be used (in this case strawberries), well, you make the Strawberry Banana Bread. This recipe comes from Flying on Jess Fuel (written by a fellow military spouse, hooah!). Enjoy!

Ingredients

  • 4 very ripe bananas (I only had 3, but they were larger, so it evened out)
  • 1/3 cup melted butter (As per usual, mine is unsalted)
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour (I don’t usually have whole wheat flour so I just used all-purpose in place of the whole wheat)
  • 1 cup fresh strawberries, diced

Preheat oven to 350°F and grease an 8×4 loaf pan.

In a large bowl, mash the bananas, then mix in the melted butter. Add vanilla, sugar, and egg. Sprinkle salt and baking soda over the banana mixture and blend in. Add flour and mix until just combined. Gently fold in strawberries.

Pour or spoon batter into loaf pan, bake for approx. 1 hour. When a tester comes out clean, remove from oven and cool on rack. Remove from loaf pan after about 10 min. and allow to finish cooling on the rack.

Strawberry Banana Bread

Tweaks and Overall Review

Other than what is noted above, the only other tweak I made was to grease and flour my loaf pan. I just find it easier to get my pans to release when I do this. I needed slightly more than an hour of bake time, but no more than 1 hour 10 min. Also, I would advise testing in two locations when checking for doneness. The strawberries keep the pockets around them very moist so it may seem like the bread isn’t done if your stick hits one of them, which may cause you to give the bread additional oven time it doesn’t need. Just test in two locations (relatively close together and still in the center) and hopefully you avoid this possible issue.

How did it turn out? Wonderful. The strawberries were a great addition, but did not overpower the banana flavor. In fact, they married together quite well. The bread itself was moist, but still had a lighter texture than I was expecting. I let Hubs take the remainder of the loaf to work with him and it was a big hit. Apparently it was gone in about 5 minutes and there was moaning (the good kind). I’d say that’s a positive review. I also love this recipe for two other reasons. First, it uses melted butter. No waiting for butter to soften at room temperature. It’s not a big deal, but to me it just makes things seem that much easier. Second, you can mix everything in one bowl and cut down on clean-up. Anything that reduces the amount of dishes I have to wash wins in my book.

To sum up, you must try this! I thought it was amazing, my husband’s crew thought it was amazing, and I hope you’ll think it’s amazing.

3 thoughts on “New Pinterest Recipe of the Week: Strawberry Banana Bread

    • I really did! This is definitely going into my regular baking rotation, especially with strawberries still being in season. And I know a whole crew of hungry guys who would love to have this show up at work again.

  1. Pingback: New Pinterest Recipe of the Week: 3 Ingredient Nutella Cookies | G.I. June

Leave a Reply

