In Our Garden: Pictures!

There isn’t much to update in regards to our garden from the last post, but I did promise pictures of the onion once it bloomed and I am here to deliver.

Our very own "Bloomin' Onion"

Our very own “Bloomin’ Onion”

I think it’s quite pretty and it is nice to have some actual flowers on our patio. While the bluebonnets and lupines are growing and seem to be doing well, they are not even close to being ready to flower.

Herb Container #1 (Including the green onion grown from kitchen scraps.)

Herb Container #1 (Including the green onion grown from kitchen scraps.)

This is the first of my two planters with my herb garden. I have thyme, green onion, and oregano. Everything seems to be doing quite well. The other day I harvested some of the thyme and got another batch of the oregano. The green onion has also been very productive. Not bad for something grown from 50¢ kitchen scraps!

Herb Container #2 (Including the unfortunate rosemary.)

Herb Container #2 (Including the unfortunate rosemary.)

The second of my herb planters. Here I have my basil, some more oregano, and between them, what is left of the poor decapitated rosemary. And it was such a lovely little bushy plant, too. I am hopeful that my plucky little sprig can come through this and recover. Not only do I like rosemary for my kitchen needs, but I think the smell was discouraging local rabbits from being too interested in the other herbs. Since the windstorm, they have been quite a bit more keen on nibbling my basil.

There you have it, pictures of our garden. Hopefully I will have some pictures of lupines and bluebonnets by the end of summer. I will also continue monitoring the rosemary. Fingers crossed, the next photo will be evidence of growth and recovery.

Leave a Reply

