New Pinterest Recipe of the Week: Peach Oatmeal Muffins

Something kind of funny happened when I decided to make these. I knew I had all the ingredients on hand, which was delightfully convenient since waddling my pregnant butt around the commissary is getting more tiresome by the day. Funny thing was though, I had exactly the amount I needed for two of my ingredients to make this batch of muffins, no more, no less. I guess it was meant to be.

As a treat to myself, I splurged on some beautiful, organic peaches this past week. When I’m pregnant, I love a good peach, or anything peachy, really. It’s one craving that has been consistent in all my pregnancies (and this is #3). So having such lovely peaches on hand (and they really were), I knew that this week’s New Pinterest Recipe had to be something with peaches in it. I found this recipe over at Damn Delicious and it seemed perfect for my needs: peachy, wouldn’t take too long (because standing in a kitchen when almost 9 months pregnant is tiresome as well), and not completely unhealthy (The peach and the oats totally balance everything else out, right? Right!). So here we go: Peach Oatmeal Muffins.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 tsps. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • 1 cup chopped peaches (I ended up using closer to 1 1/2-2 cups since one chopped peach didn’t give me quite enough, so I ended up using two, which since they were rather large, was more than enough. But like I said, this pregnant lady loves peaches so having extra was not an issue for me.)
  • Cinnamon-sugar for sprinkling on top

Preheat the oven to 400°F and line a standard 12 cup muffin tin with paper liners.

In a large bowl, combine your flour, oats, sugar, baking powder, and salt (your dry ingredients).

In a smaller bowl, or a large measuring cup, whisk your egg, sour cream, and butter together (the wet ingredients).

Pour the wet ingredients over the dry, and combine until just moist.

Add peaches and gently stir to combine.

Distribute batter evenly in your lined muffin cups and top with a sprinkling of cinnamon-sugar.

Bake for about 16-18 mins. Makes about 10-12 muffins.

Peach Oatmeal Muffins

Tweaks and Overall Review

I ended up with 12 muffins in my finished batch. Considering that I had probably almost doubled the amount of peach in mine, a standard batch would probably turn out 9 or 10. Also, because I filled my muffin tins almost to the brim, my baking time was a little longer. I took them out at 20 mins., since at 18 they were still just a little too underdone and I wanted slightly more color on the tops. Finally, I will take this chance to emphasize: Use liners for this one! It will make your life easier. Even if you usually don’t, use liners this time. Oh, and be sure and use fresh peaches. I know that makes this more of a seasonal recipe, but just don’t bother with frozen on this one. The flavor just won’t be the same.

These turned out so well. I was really pleased. You can definitely taste the oats, but there is plenty of peach to go with it. One of my taste testers described them as being like peaches and cream oatmeal in muffin form. These are definitely something to eat same day as baking, since hopefully you are using nice, juicy peaches, so I wouldn’t recommend letting the muffins sit too long. I don’t imagine that being a problem though. These are definitely getting added to the regular baking rotation. Hopefully I’ll get another good batch of peaches and can make them again soon, because these were just that good.

2 thoughts on “New Pinterest Recipe of the Week: Peach Oatmeal Muffins

  1. Pingback: Happy Friday | Minnie~Cake

  2. Pingback: Apple-Peach Cinnamon Oatmeal Muffins | All Glorious

Leave a Reply

