Grandmom’s Yellow Squash

Grandmom's Yellow Squash

I know summer is winding down, but I want to make it last just a little longer so I thought I’d share a recipe that always takes me back to some of my favorite summer memories.
Every summer I spent about a week visiting my grandparents around my birthday. As I’ve said before, my grandfather had one of the most amazing vegetable gardens I’ve ever seen. At its peak, his garden had corn, okra, tomatoes…the list goes on. One other thing he always grew was yellow squash (or as he sometimes called it “crook-neck squash”) and my grandmother always prepared some of it for us to eat when I visited. I’ll admit to being something of a picky eater when it came to vegetables in my younger days, but I always ate this. When I make it now, my girls eat it with no complaints, so it would seem that this is a pretty kid friendly dish. I hope you give it a try and enjoy it as much as I do.

Ingredients

2-3 yellow squash, depending on size
1 onion (I use a regular yellow onion, though you could also use a Vidalia if you want.)
1/4 cup of butter (As per usual, I use unsalted.)
1 tsp. sugar

Slice the yellow squash (using a mandolin will probably make this go faster, but isn’t necessary) and set aside, then chop your onion.
Add the onion to a large pan on medium/medium-low heat and then sprinkle the sugar over it. Stir the onion in the pan until it is beginning to become translucent.
Add the butter to the pan and let it melt before adding your squash.
Lower the heat, and cover the pan, stirring occasionally until all the squash is cooked.

Leave a Reply

