Happy New Year!

A happy 2014 to you all! We had a successful Christmas and a low key, but perfectly acceptable New Year’s Eve. Our Christmas decor was all put away by Dec. 27 (a record for us!), and while I was sorry to see it go, the layout of the house is such that I am glad to have the space back. Hubs had to work New Year’s Eve, so my date was Colin Firth’s Mr. Darcy. I watch the 1995 BBC production of Pride and Prejudice as my New Year’s countdown. A most genteel way to spend the evening.

Unfortunately, we’ve spent the last week or so taking turns being sick. Nothing horrible, just a yucky, phlegmy cold/cough. It’s the kind where you sound horrible, especially in the morning, but once you get up and about, you feel mostly fine. Hopefully we’re all on the upswing, though. Sick kids are bad enough. Well kids while you’re sick is worse.

So I hate to say it, since I do love the holiday season and all the trappings of that time of year, but I am happy that we will be getting back on our normal schedule. Big Bit will be back to school, and we’ll be able to resume our routine. I’ll admit, as much as I love getting to hang out with all three kids, I get so much more done with Big Bit in school. We’re also hoping to start the potty training adventure with Little Bit, and lord knows that’s easier to do with a semi-regular schedule in place, rather than when the family is running around all the time with no set routine.

There you are. A short little update. Hopefully as we get back into the swing of things here I’ll be able to post more recipes. I have a few that I found over the holiday that I want to try in the near future. Also, I am committing myself to trying some crafting this year. I’m not sure what, but it will happen. I hope.

Happy 2014!

Leave a Reply

