Applesauce Carrot Cake (Mix) Cookies

I am so excited to get this recipe up for y’all! I have seen tons of variations on cake mix cookies all over Pinterest, so now I’m taking my stab at the idea. These are so easy to make and since you replace the oil with applesauce they’re even sort of (kind of) healthy(ish). At least you won’t feel as bad if you realize that you’ve been snacking on them all day since you just have to grab one when you go in the kitchen. (They were taunting me on that plate I tell you! Insurrection from food is unacceptable in my house!) Anyway, if you have the ingredients and half an hour (less than that, really), then you can make these cookies.

Ingredients

  • 1 box Carrot Cake Mix
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup applesauce (I used unsweetened since with the cake mix you don’t need any more sugar.)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup raisins

Preheat your oven to 350°F.

In a medium bowl, mix together cake mix, water, applesauce, and the egg. Once everything is mixed together (and it will take a little elbow grease), add in the raisins and mix again so they are pretty evenly distributed in the batter.

Take rounded tablespoons and drop them on a greased cookie sheet. The cookie batter is pretty sticky so you will probably need to scrape it off the spoon. Leave plenty of room between the cookies on the sheet, since they will flatten out and spread as they bake. I would say 2 inches between is a safe bet.

Applesauce Carrot Cake (Mix) Cookies

Bake your cookies in the oven for 12-15 minutes (my magic number was 13:30/14 depending on oven position). The edges of the cookies should be turning just slightly brown when they are done. Allow to cool on the cookie sheet for a few minutes and then transfer to a cooling rack. Enjoy!

Prep Time: 5 minutes Bake Time: 15 minutes Yields about 2 dozen cookies

Applesauce Carrot Cake (Mix) Cookies

 

Like I said, these are so easy to make! They are perfect for those times when you need to take something to a gathering or a bake sale at the last minute and you don’t want to be that person who just goes and buys something at the supermarket. The applesauce helps keep these cookies moist and chewy and the flavor is pretty good for something that started out as a box mix. Some people might think the cinnamon flavor is a little overpowering, but I didn’t mind it at all. The girls loved them, so I’m pretty sure these would go over well with most kiddos as a cookie option. Give them a try and I hope you enjoy them. I would love to hear how they turn out for you!

Leave a Reply

